Musings on a Monday

Since I started this blog, I’ve neglected it.  I have ideas for posts, but have a hard time fleshing them out.  In the meantime, lists are my favorite so these are some of my favorite things lately!

1.  I’ve noticed a LOT of blog posts and articles about body acceptance, positive weight gain, and the like.  After two and a half years in retail, I started a desk job six months ago, with over an hour commute each way.  Hours of sitting, less time for the gym, and constant office catering have added more than a few pounds to my waistline.  My arms are not nearly muscular as they were a year ago and I suddenly actually need a bra again.  While I cannot say that I am completely comfortable with my current body, it is what it is, and I’d rather have a few “extra” inches on my frame than be as miserable, constantly cold, and have a body resembling that of a 10-year-old boy ever again.  With that, the recent surge in ACTUAL healthy and NORMAL body weight, composition, and eating articles I’ve read have really helped me.  Here are a few:

2.  I really want to start cooking and baking a lot more.  I get so lazy and tired through the work week.  Usually I cook/prep my lunches on Sundays, but dinner ends up being veggies and pita or crackers with hummus and cheese five nights a week.  Delicious, but boring.  I save and pin recipes like crazy without ever actually making any.  These are some I’ve saved in my Feedly reader that I’m going to make an effort in actually producing.

3.   Between locking my car and walking 10 feet to the trail on Sunday morning for my long run, I got stung by something inside my right ring finger.  Something buzzed a few times on my head so I reached up to swat it away, ended up grabbing it, and yelled a loud obscenity in front of a lot of people and their dogs.  When I was younger, I was stung by an unknown insect and developed hives so I naturally freaked out.  I don’t know what stung me then and I didn’t know what stung me yesterday.  Clearly I thought I was going to stop breathing, called my mom, jumped in my car and drove home to take Benadryl.  I calmed down, didn’t break out in hives, baked some pumpkin protein bars, and went back to the trail later.  I only ended up running 5.3 because my left foot was going numb.  My laces weren’t too tight and it hasn’t happened before sooooo that was super weird.

4.

I jumped off my couch, screamed, and danced with joy.

5.  I just got called “Brandy.”  No.  No.  Learn to read.

Leave a Reply

